Lecture Schedule Reading Assignments
Lecture 1:
Section 1: Wednesday, September 27
Section 3: Thursday, September 28

Introduction, What's Going on?, Thinking Philosophically and Thinking like a Programmer, Classes and Objects,
Intro to Java,
jGrasp, Becker & Robots

Ch. 1: Read All
Skim 1.1
Study 1.2-1.4
Study 1.5
Study 1.7
<Skip 1.6>
 
Lecture 2:
Section 1: Monday, October 2
Section 3: Tuesday, October 3

Review of Lecture 1, Types of Errors,
Tracing Code
Ch. 1.5
- - - - -
Ch. 1.4.5
 
Lecture 3:
Section 1: Wednesday, October 4
Section 3: Thursday, October 5

Extending a Class, Building a Constructor,
Creating and Using New Methods

Appendix F.1
Ch 2.1, 2.2
Ch 2.4
 
Lecture 4:
Section 1: Monday, October 9
Section 3: Tuesday, October 10

Decision Making
Decision Logic with If and While

Appendix F.3
Ch 4.1, 4.2
Ch 4.4
 
Lecture 5:
Section 1: Wednesday, October 11
Section 3: Thursday, October 12

Repeat
While Loops
Memory Space
App F.2
Ch 5.1
App F.4
Ch. 5.2
DUE: Assignment 1
Lecture 6:
Section 1: Monday, October 16
Section 3: Tuesday, October 17

Memory CONTINUED
Counting with Loops
Ch 5.8.3  
Lecture 7:
Section 1: Wednesday, October 18
Section 3: Thursday, October 19

Printing Expressions (System.out)
Ch 6.6.1  
Lecture 8:
Section 1: Monday, October 23
Section 3: Tuesday, October 24

BUFFER DAY/ ASSIGNMENT WORK DAY
NO LECTURE
   
Lecture 9:
Section 1: Wednesday, October 25
Section 3: Thursday, October 26

User Input (System.in)
Review for Mid-Term Exam
Ch 9.4
Ch 9.5
DUE: Assignment 2
Lecture 10:
Section 1: Monday, October 30
Section 3: Tuesday, October 31

Mid-Term Exam
MID-TERM EXAM MID-TERM EXAM
Lecture 11:
Section 1: Monday, November 6
Section 3: Thursday, November 2

Arguments
Parameters
Variable Types

Appendix F.5
Ch 4.6
Ch 6.2.2

DUE: Assignment 1 Revision
Lecture 12:
Section 1: Wednesday, November 8
Section 3: Tuesday, November 7

Instance Variables
Appendix F.7
Ch 6.1, 6.2, 6.3
 
Lecture 13:
Section 1: Monday, November 13
Section 3: Thursday, November 9

Overriding Methods, Multiple Files
Ch 6.2
Ch 4.4
DUE: Assignment 2 Revision
Lecture 14:
Section 1: Wednesday, November 15
Section 3: Tuesday, November 14

BUFFER DAY/ ASSIGNMENT WORK DAY
NO LECTURE
Ch 6.2
Ch 4.4
 
Lecture 15:
Section 1: Monday, November 20
Section 3: Thursday, November 16

Non-Robot Programming
Boolean Expressions, Logical Operators
Ch 5.4 DUE: Assignment 3
Lecture 16:
Section 1: Wednesday, November 22
Section 3: Tuesday, November 21

Nested Statements, For Loops
Ch 5.3
Ch 5.5.1
 
Lecture 17:
Section 1: Monday, November 27
Section 3: Tuesday, November 28

Do-While Loops, Switch Statements
Introduction to Arrays

Ch 5.5.2
Ch 5.3.3

 
Lecture 18:
Section 1: Wednesday, November 29
Section 3: Thursday, November 30

Introduction to Arrays CONTINUED

Ch 10.1through 10.1.7
Ch 10.2
Ch 10.5

DUE: Assignment 3 Revision
Lecture 19:
Section 1: Monday, December 4
Section 3: Tuesday, December 5

Array Parameters
Ch 10.3
Ch 4.5
 
Lecture 20:
Section 1: Wednesday, December 6
Section 3: Thursday, December 7

Array Returns
Strings, String Arrays (Extra Credit)

Chapter 8.2  
Lecture 21:
Section 1: Monday, December 11
Section 3: Tuesday, December 12

BUFFER DAY/ ASSIGNMENT WORK DAY
NO LECTURE
Buffer/Study/Assignment Work Day
DUE: Assignment 4 (NO REVISION)
Lecture 22:
Section 1: Wednesday, December 13
Section 3: Thursday, December 14

Final Exam
FINAL EXAM

FINAL EXAM
DUE: Extra Credit 01

The number of projects and the points possible for exams, projects and activities are subject to change depending on the circumstances of the class. I reserve the right to modify any and all aspects of the course, any time, without prior notice, including this syllabus.